[TO-BE INTRODUCED IN THE SENATE]

A BILL

further to amend the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

WHEREAS it is expedient further to amend the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan for the purposes hereinafter appearing;

It is hereby enacted as follows:-

1.19

- 1. Short title and commencement.— (1) This Act may be called the Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2024.
 - (2) It shall come into force at once.
- 2. Amendment of Article 51 of the Constitution.— In the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, in Article 51,
 - in clause (4) after the word 'non-Muslims' occurring at the end, the expression ", out of which at least one seat shall be allocated to each province." shall be added;
 - (ii) in clause 6, for paragraph (c), the following shall be substituted, namely:-
 - "(c) each Province shall be a single constituency for the purpose of four seats reserved for non-Muslims allocated under clause (4):

Provided that the constituency for the remaining six seats reserved for non-Muslims shall be the whole country."

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan provides ten reserved seats for non-Muslims in the National Assembly of Pakistan. According to the Constitution, the whole country is the constituency for these reserved seats. This means that no specific quota for any geographic area or federating unit has been set and political parties are free to nominate their candidates from any area. These seats are filled through the method of proportional representation and allocated to parties according to the proportion of general seats they have bagged in the elections. This creates disproportion in the representation of non-Muslims in the National Assembly from all the provinces as most of the seats get allocated to the majority populous provinces. The instant amendment in the Constitution provides mechanism to allocate minimum of one seat to each province to address the existing disparity.

SENATOR KAUDA BABAR SENATOR MANZOOR AHMED SENATOR NASEEBULLAH BAZAI SENATOR SANA JAMALI SENATOR DANESH KUMAR MEMBERS-IN-CHARGE