Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari

(Chairman, Senate of Pakistan)
Name: Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari Picture of Senator Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari   
Tenure: March 2009 to March 2015
Province: Federal Capital
Party: Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPPP)
Seat Description: General
Designation: Chairman

Office Number: +92-51-9223475 to 76
Home Number: +92-51-2303677
Mobile Number: 0300-9503248
Fax Number: +92-51-9103125
Local Address: Parliament House, Constitution Avenue, Islamabad, Pakistan.
Permanent Address: Bokhari House, Kiyani Road, Kot Hathial, Bhara Kahu, Islamabad.
Position Held: •General Secretary Islamabad Bar Association from 1982 to 1983.
•President Islamabad Bar Association in the years 1984, 1992 and 2000.
•General Secretary of PPP Islamabad from 1983 to 1987.
•President Party’s Islamabad Chapter from 1987 todate.
•Administrator, People’s Works Program, Islamabad District from 1989 to 1990.
•Elected Member of National Assembly of Pakistan and also served as Party’s Deputy Chief Whip in the National Assembly from 2002-2007.
•Member Standing Committees on Interior, Environment and Port & Shipping.
•Member, Board of Management, Pakistan Bait-ul-Mal from 1994-96.
•Appointed Member of PPP Foreign Liaison Committee and PPP Coordination Committee by Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto in 2002 and 2005 respectively.
•Elected to the Senate and continued serving as Leader of the House till his election as Chairman Senate from 2009 to 2012.
•Headed Prime Minister Committee for Flood Relief in the year 2011 •Also headed Parliamentary Committee on Judges Appointment •In addition, he served as Convener, Parliamentary Committee on Balochistan issue, and member PPP Core Committee headed by President of Pakistan.
Qualification: •St. Mary’s School, Rawalpindi
•PAF Model School Chaklala, Rawalpindi
•Gordon College, Rawalpindi
•LL.B from University of the Punjab, Lahore, Pakistan (73-76).
* Year of Enrollment as an Advocate: 1977

* Year of Enrollment as an Advocate of High Court: 1981

* Year of Enrollment as an Advocate of Supreme Court: 2010

* Many cases reported in different Law Journals of Pakistan