News Detail

new detail picture

Event Title: Senator Muhammad Tahir Bizinjo, Chairman Senate Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges presiding over a Meeting of the Committee at Parliament House Islamabad

Event Date: 2023-12-05

Meeting of Senate Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges was held at Parliament House on Tuesday with Senator Muhammad Tahir Bizinjo in Chair.

The Senate Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges, on Tuesday, directed the CAA to restore the remaining 82 pilots within the next 15 days and furnish a report. The committee extensively discussed the breach of privilege case of the sub-committee of the Senate Standing Committee on Aviation. This breach involved the DG CAA giving false assurances to the sub-committee, obstructing members in the discharge of their duties, and not implementing decisions of the house in violation of rule 196. This amounts to disobedience of orders of the house and its committees.

Senator Saleem Mandiwalla informed the committee that the sub-committee was overseeing the resolution of issues related to the revocation of pilots' licenses. Despite assurances given in meetings and the acquittal of pilots from criminal cases, the DG CAA is hesitant to implement not only the committee's recommendations but also overruled the court's decision on September 5, 2023. The special judge (central)-II, Karachi, rendered a decision and acquitted all pilots with FIRs registered against them. Currently, no criminal or legal case is pending against any of these pilots. The Committee deferred the matter for two weeks.

Furthermore, the Senate Committee was briefed on the Privilege motion, moved by Senators Naseeb Ullah Bazai and Senator Sardar Muhammad Shafiq Tareen, against the President of NBP for not attending the meeting scheduled to be held in the NBP building in Karachi, despite being present in the same building. The President of NBP tendered a written apology before the committee for his misconduct. The Committee accepted the apology and deferred the deliberation on the matter until the next meeting.

In attendance were Senator Professor Sajid Mir,Senator Irfan ul Haque Siddiqui,Senator Saifullah Abro,Senator Naseeb ullah Khan Bazai,Senator Sardar Muhammad Shafiq Tareen,Senator Saleem Mandviwalla,Senator Faisal Saleem Rehman,Caretaker Federal Minister for Parliamentary Affairs,DG Civil Aviation Authority Khaqan Murtaza,President NBP Rehhat Ali Hasnie, Additional Secretary for Parliamentary Affairs Asif Saeed Khan, Additional Secretary Finance and Revenue Amjad Mahmood and other senior officials of relevant departments were also in attendance.