News Detail

new detail picture

Event Title: Senator Saifullah Abro, Chairman Senate Standing Committee on Power Presiding over a Meeting of The Committee at Parliament House Islamabad

Event Date: 2023-08-22

On Tuesday, the Senate Standing Committee on Power met under the chairmanship of Senator Saifuallah Abro at the Parliament House. At the outset of the meeting the Chairman Committee maintained that he serves as the custodian of the money of the people of Pakistan, and added that Committee will get to the core of each and every penny being consumed.

The Committee has already finalised the findings of the 765kV double circuit transmission line from Dasu Hydro Power Station to Islamabad. The Committee inquired the Power Division on the implementation of the recommendations made by the Committee in its previous Committee meetings. The A.S, Power Division informed that Power Division has received a copy of approved minutes a week ago and sought time for implementation of the recommendations.

An in-camera discussion also took place at the length on the Public Petition No PP -5338 & PP - 5350 regarding tender, design, supply, installation, testing and commissioning of 765kV double circuit transmission lines Dasu-Mansehra-Islamabad ( Lot-I ,II & III). Mr. Sitki Serifeken, representative of SA-RA Energy (Sa-Ra Energy Construction Trade and Industry Co. Inc) briefed the Committee in detail about the petition. Thereafter, various queries were raised by the Members of the Committee which were responded to. After the detailed deliberations, the Committee concluded its findings clubbed with the findings of 765kV double circuit transmission lines project LoT-I. The Committee concluded that the queries raised by the complainant has not been addressed by the NTDC and also failed to address the instructions issued by the Lahore High Court. The Committee found the NTDC as ineligible and fraudulent with mala fide intentions. The committee remarked that NTDC will remain on the agenda till all the LoTs of 765kV double circuit transmission line from Dasu Hydro Power Station to Islamabad & other components are evaluated in detail.

The committee also sought a detailed briefing on the generation and distribution of electricity to provinces. The Power Division apprised that a loss of Rs. 470 billion occurred due to non cooperation of the provinces in this regard. The remaining agenda was deferred up till upcoming meetings.

The meeting was attended by Senators Fida Muhammad, Saifullah Sarwar Khan Nyazee, Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai, Sana Jamali, Haji Hidayat Ullah Khan, Bahramand Khan Tangi, Hafiz Abdul Karim, and Senator Muhammad Asad Ali Khan Jenejo. Representative of concerned departments were also in attendance.