News Detail

new detail picture

Event Title: Senator Saifullah Abro, Chairman Senate Standing Committee on Power Presiding over a Meeting of The Committee at Parliament House Islamabad

Event Date: 2023-06-02

The Senate Committee was briefed about the Construction and tendering process of 765kV Dasu Hydro Power Station. MD NTDC apprised the Committee that Dasu Hydro Power Station is the first of its kind, who has 765kV capacity and comprises of two grid stations situating at Mansehra and Islamabad. The project is being funded by World Bank with an accumulative cost of around 700 Million USD, he added.

While reviewing the tendering process, Senator Saifullah Abro inquired as to why five years of experience is required for hiring of consultant who had previously worked in 765kV  projects in the region whereas 12 years’ experience in 380kV projects has been fixed for hiring of Contractor. He pointed out that why the same criteria of 765kV was not required for construction companies. Saifullah remarked that there is no rationale in fixing these qualifications and clearly indicates the malafide intention on the part of NTDC. Moreover, he maintained that consultancy contract has been awarded to M/s GOPA Intec, a German firm, which has no previous experience in 765kV transmission line projects in the region. However, NTDC failed to satisfy the queries of the Committee. The Committee directed the NTDC to provide concrete evidence against the raised allegations in the next Committee meeting.

Senator Haji Hidayatullah Khan also raised the issue related to replacement of a transformer in Peshawar city. The Member stated that if there was a 100% recovery from Peshawar city then transformer must be replaced immediately. The Committee directed A.S, Power Division to meet with Senator Haji Hidayatullah Khan after the meeting and resolve the issue amicably.

The meeting was attended by Senator Fida Muhammad, Senator Saifullah Sarwar Khan Nyazee, Senator Sana Jamali, Senator Haji Hidayatullah Khan, Senator Bahramand Khan Tangi, Senator Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai, Additional Secretary Power Division Arshad Majeed, MD NTDC, Engr. Dr. Rana Abdul Jabbar Khan and other concerned officers were also in attendance.