Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is an International Community of Commonwealth Parliaments and Legislatures. It was originally called the Empire Parliamentary Association and was founded in 1911. It consists of the National, Provincial, State and Territorial Parliaments and Legislatures of the Countries of the Commonwealth. Out of the 53 Commonwealth Member Countries, 52 are members of CPA.


The CPA’s mission is to promote the advancement of parliamentary democracy by enhancing knowledge and understanding of democratic governance, for which it seeks to build an informed parliamentary community and to further co-operation among its Parliaments and Legislatures.


The aims of the Association are to promote knowledge of the constitutional, legislative, economic, social and cultural aspects of parliamentary democracy, with particular reference to the countries of the Commonwealth of Nations.

During recent years the Senate has played a leading role in CPA affairs in the region. The Asia region Secretariat of the CPA was established in the Senate Secretariat with Secretary Senate being the Regional Secretary. A number of regional and international conferences and seminars had been organized and hosted by the Senate of Pakistan. (visit CPA website)