SENATE OF PAKISTAN

DAILY JOURNAL

(271st Session)

Date and day	11 th December, 2017 (Monday)
Commenced at	03:05 p.m.
Adjourned at	08:00 p.m.
Presided by	Chairman Senate
Attendance	78
Total working hours	4 hours and 55 minutes

• Recitation from the Holy Quran.

PANEL OF PRESIDING OFFICERS FOR 271st SESSION

- **1.** Senator Muhammad Javed Abbasi.
- 2. Senator Muhammad Talha Mehmood.
- **3.** Senator Kalsoom Parveen.
- Leave applications were read by the Chairman.

FATEHA

The House offered Fateha for the departed souls in the incidents of terrorist attack Agriculture Training Institute in Peshawar, the incident of capsizing of a boat in Sindh and the incident of killing of three laborers of Railways.

MOTION [Under Rule 263]

Senator Col. (R) Syed Tahir Hussain Mashhadi moved under rule 263 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Senate, 2012 for dispensing with the requirement of relevant rules of the Said Rules in order to enable the House to discuss and pass a resolution to reject and condemn the unilateral announcement of US President to shift US Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem.

The Motion was put to the House and adopted.

Note: Before start of discussion, the Chairman announced that the notices of resolutions, motions under rule 218 and adjournment motions given by the members on this issue will be clubbed with the discussion.

Following Members spoke on the issue:-

- 1. Senator Sehar Kamran.
- 2. Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed.
- 3. Senator Col. (R) Syed Tahir Hussain Mashhadi.
- 4. Senator Kalsoom Parveen.

[At this stage, the Chairman with the consent of the Leader of the House and the Leader of the Opposition announced that today the business on the orders of the day will not be taken up and after discussion and passing of the resolution, the proceedings will be adjourned as token of solidarity with the Palestinian brother and sisters.]

- 5. Senator Farhatullah Babar.
- 6. Senator Abdul Rehman Malik.
- 7. Senator Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar.
- 8. Senator Sherry Rehman.
- 9. Senator Tanveer Ul Haq Thanvi.
- 10. Senator Professor Sajid Mir.
- **11.** Senator Muhammad Javed Abbasi.
- 12. Senator Mukhtiar Ahmed Dhamrah @ Aajiz.
- **13.** Senator Saud Majeed.

[The Chairman acknowledged the presence of a group of 32 students along with 4 faculty members of University of Kotli, AJK who were present in the galleries to witness the proceedings.]

- 14. Senator Saeedul Hassan Khan Mandokhail.
- 15. Senator Nehal Hashmi.
- 16. Senator Lt. Gen. (R) Abdul Qayyum.
- 17. Senator Dr.. Jahanzeb Jamaldini.
- 18. Senator Osman Saifullah Khan.
- 19. Senator Aisha Raza Farooq.
- **20.** Senator Taj Haider.

- **21.** Senator Ghous Muhammad Khan Niazi.
- 22. Senator Saleem Zia.
- 23. Senator Karim Ahmed Khawaja.
- 24. Senator Muhammad Ali Khan Saif.
- **25.** Senator Naseema Ehsan.
- **26.** Senator Mohsin Aziz.
- 27. Senator Sitara Ayaz.
- **28.** Senator Ourangzaib Khan.
- **29.** Senator Sardar Muhammad Azam Khan Musakhel.
- **30.** Senator Gianchand.
- **31.** Senator Maulana Hafiz Hamadullah.
- **32.** Senator Ilyas Ahmed Bilour.
- 33. Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Leader of the Opposition.
- 34. Senator Raja Muhammad Zafar Ul Haq, Leader of the House.

Thereafter, Senator Raja Muhammad Zafar Ul Haq, Leader of the House moved the resolution which was passed unanimously.

The Chairman appreciated the meaningful debate in the House on a very sensitive issue.

At 8:00 p.m., the Chairman adjourned the proceedings of the House to meet again on Tuesday, the 12th December, 2017 at 3:00 p.m.